The Strategy Team (ST) will be charged by the president to

  • develop and implement and evaluate a new five-year strategic plan for the university;
  • serve as the institutional manager of the P3 program; and
  • strategically invest in areas of distinction that will contribute to the creation of a "destination university."

The ST will be co-chaired by the executive vice president and provost and the vice president for research, and will comprise representatives from

  • central administration
  • collegiate deans
  • shared governance
  • faculty 
  • staff
  • University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics (UIHC)
  • University of Iowa Center for Advancement (UICA)


The Strategy Team will:

  • develop mission, vision, and core value statements;
  • ground their work in continuous campus feedback from students, faculty, staff, and external groups;
  • set strategic plan goals, strategies, and measurable outcomes using:
    • draft plans submitted by the development teams;
    • collegiate and unit strategic plans;
    • feedback from campus leadership groups;
    • feedback from campuswide listening sessions, focus groups, town halls, and open forums; and
    • campus and benchmarking data provided by the Data & Assessment Team;
  • serve as the institutional manager of the P3 Program in support of the strategic priorities funding process;
  • identify areas of distinction that will contribute to the creation of a "destination university";
  • review and report strategic plan progress annually, and adjust the plan in consultation with campus content experts; and
  • be supported by the Data & Assessment Team through all phases of the strategic plan.


Members of the ST are:

  • Kevin Kregel, Executive Vice President and Provost (Co-chair​)
  • Marty Scholtz, Vice President for Research (Co-chair​)
  • Amy Kristof-Brown, Dean, Tippie College of Business
  • Kevin Washburn, Dean, College of Law
  • Ted Abel, Chair and DEO, Department of Neuroscience and Pharmacology, and Director of the Iowa Neuroscience Institute, Carver College of Medicine
  • Dan Matheson, Associate Professor of Instruction and Director of Sport and Recreation Management, Department of Health and Human Physiology, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Danielle Martinez, Director of Student Retention, Academic Support and Retention, University College
  • Steve Fleagle, Associate Vice President and CIO, Information Technology Services 
  • Sarah Hansen, Vice President for Student Life
  • Brooks Jackson, Vice President for Medical Affairs, and Dean, Carver College of Medicine
  • Terry Johnson, Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer
  • Lynette Marshall, President and CEO, UI Center for Advancement
  • Laura McLeran, Associate Vice President for External Relations and Senior Advisor to the President
  • Liz Tovar, Executive Officer for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion and Associate Vice President
  • Tanya Uden-Holman, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education, and Dean of University College
  • Amanda Thein, Associate Provost for Graduate and Professional Education, and Dean of the Graduate College
  • Moala Bannavti, PhD Candidate in Civil and Environmental Engineering, College of Engineering, and Graduate and Professional Student Government President (Ex officio)
  • Teresa Marshall, Professor of Preventive and Community Dentistry, College of Dentistry, and Faculty Senate President (Ex officio)
  • Regan Smock, 4th Year Undergraduate Student, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and Undergraduate Student Government President (Ex officio)
  • Kevin Zihlman, Assistant Athletics Director of Compliance, Department of Athletics, and Staff Council President (Ex officio)
  • Wayne Jacobson, Data and Assessment Team Lead (Liaison)
  • Kris Yows, Data and Assessment Team Member (Liaison) and ST Writing Support